Faculty Mentor of the Year Award

The Michigan State University Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor of the Year Award is presented annually in recognition of those faculty members who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to mentoring undergraduate researchers.

Two awards are presented each spring at the University Undergraduate Research and Arts Forum (UURAF):

  • Faculty Mentor of the Year – Sciences , Mathematics, & Engineering
  • Faculty Mentor of the Year – Humanities, Social Sciences, & Communication Arts

Finalists will receive a $1000 honorarium that will be awarded at the beginning of the next fiscal year.


  • Any faculty member at MSU currently mentoring an MSU undergraduate student researcher
  • Previous winners are not eligible for 5 years from the date of last award
  • Nominated by an undergraduate student researcher currently enrolled at MSU

Selection Criteria

We are seeking faculty who exemplify the following characteristics:

  • Demonstrated commitment to undergraduate research
  • Strong professional mentoring relationship with student
  • Role model in field of study

Nomination Process

In order to nominate a faculty mentor, the student must do the following:

  • Complete the nomination form
  • Submit a nomination letter that addresses the selection criteria listed above (maximum 1000 words) to ugrsrch@msu.edu
  • Nominations will not be considered complete until we have received both the nomination form and the nomination letter. All pieces must be submitted by the deadline.

All materials should be emailed to ugrsrch@msu.edu no later than 11:59 PM on Monday, February 6, 2017

Past Award Recipients

2016 Winners

Humanities, Social Sciences, & Communication Arts: Dr. Howard Bossen, Journalism

Sciences, Mathematics, & Engineering: Dr. Evangelyn Alocilja, Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering

2015 Winners

Humanities, Social Sciences, & Communication Arts: Dr. Denise Hershey, Nursing

Sciences, Mathematics, & Engineering: Dr. Richard Lunt, Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

2014 Winners

Humanities, Social Sciences, & Communication Arts: Dr. Natalie Phillips, English

Sciences, Mathematics, & Engineering: Dr. Christopher Waters, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics