UURAF Award Ceremony

Save the Date: The 2023 UURAF Award Ceremony will be held on April 26, 2023 from 4:30 PM - 5:45 PM at 1130 STEM Teaching and Learning Facility.

Student presenters will be notified via email after the forum concludes and asked to RSVP. The award ceremony is free and open to the public. Research mentors, friends, and family members are encouraged to attend. The award ceremony was separated from the forum to help us accommodate the nearly 1,000 students expected to participate in UURAF. 

For a complete list of current and previous UURAF Winners, click here.

Michigan State University is committed to providing equal opportunity for participation in all programs, services and activities. Direct requests for accommodations to Heather Dover, Coordinator for Undergraduate Research (doverhea@msu.edu, 517-884-1558). Requests received after April 19, 2023 will be honored whenever possible.


To recognize exemplary scholarly achievements, monetary prizes will be awarded. One first-place award ($100; group presentations of more than 4 people will evenly split $400) will be given in each presentation category. (Note: only undergraduate student presenters are eligible for awards. Student presenters without RCR training are not eligible.) First-place award recipients, whether in an oral, poster, performance, film or exhibit presentation, are eligible to submit their work for consideration for the UURAF Grand Prize, a $500 award. All materials submitted for the UURAF Grand Prize must comply with grand prize guidelines. Honors College staff members will review submissions. A total of two grand prizes ($500 each) will be awarded to one program from the science, engineering, and mathematics related categories and one program from the arts, humanities, and social sciences related categories. Group presentations will evenly split the prize money. Grand prize recipients will be notified by mid-June.

Full lists of first place recipients by category can be viewed here.

2022 Grand Prize Recipients

Social Sciences, Humanities, and Arts Grand Prize: Ellie Friedman, and Sam Bourgeois, Assessing Writing in Children Who Use African American English: The Impact of a Culturally Responsive Scoring Approach in Grades 3-4

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Grand Prize: Hariharan Ramakrishnan, Adenosine Receptor Antagonism Reduces Chemotherapy Side Effects in Mice such as Cisplatin-Induced Kidney Toxicity and Painful Neuropathy

Past Award Recipients

Past UURAF Program Books as well as lists of past UURAF award recipients are available in the past forums section of this website.